Ratings Forming Part of a Nafvigational Watch – Fully Complete!

IMG_20131112_163008_983

rfonw

In today’s mail were the stickers sent by the USCG that go in my MMC booklet. As soon as the stickers were placed in the book, I officially knocked the RFPNW hurdle off of my list. If you read through my previous blog entries, you will know that this was not an easy rating to get. The biggest problem for me was finding a ship to work on over 200 gross tons that didn’t require me to already have the rating. Kind of a damned if you do, damned if you don’t scenario. In my case I’m very pleased with my decision to spend the extra money and fly to Houma, LA for the course at Fletcher’s Technical College. That lowered my sea time requirements from 180 days to 60 days. I’d still be working on this rating, if I hadn’t gone that route. Hopefully this information will help someone in the future.

I have some other exciting news to share in the near future. Let’s just say while all of my friends in North America are enduring a cold winter, I won’t be………

4 thoughts on “Ratings Forming Part of a Nafvigational Watch – Fully Complete!

Leave a Reply

