Going back to skool

Yesterday, while waiting to hear nothing from the Coast Guard, I made a list of the classes that I will need to take in the future.  I’m sure before I can complete this list, the rules will be altered and I will have to take more courses.  Here is what I’ve come up with so far:

1. RFNPW

2. Radar Observer

3. Visual Communications (flashing Lights)

4. Medical Care Provider

5. Bridge Resource Management

6. Vessel Safety Officer

7. Advanced Fire Fighting

8. Celestial Navigation

9. GMDSS

10. ECDIS (Electronic Charting)

Hopefully I didn’t miss anything.  I looked at all of the checklists on the National Maritime Center webpage to come up with the list.  http://www.uscg.mil/nmc/credentials/checklists/default.asp

My master plan is to knock one or two classes off (depending on length) every chance I get.  Should keep me out of the house for a while.

 

Leave a Reply

